Mental Health Sunday, Ministry of Reality Monday, Aug 2, 2010

I didn’t attend church yesterday.

I wasn’t ill. The kids weren’t ill. AND, we missed last week because we were vacationing at the beach. So, I really should have gone.

But I just couldn’t. I was too tired. Tired of being with people… I love my family, and the vacation was wonderful, but a beach house with 10 people is not something an introvert can do without it taking its toll. So this introvert stayed home with the four-month-old baby while my husband took the girls. There was a potluck after church, which was honestly another big reason why I couldn’t make myself go to church. If I went I’d have to cook a dessert and a side dish. We traveled 9 hours on Saturday. We arrived home around 5pm, and then we had to go over to my in-law’s to pick up the dog and the butterflies. I wasn’t up to cooking for a potluck.

I believe that regular worship with other believers is important to my spiritual state, but yesterday I didn’t have it in me. I took a mental-health day, which is not something my denomination would generally recognize. Oh well. Sometimes you have to be nice to yourself, even when others don’t understand.

I spent years on the over-achieving, push-myself treadmill of life… I’m too old (and perhaps too wise?) to do that anymore. So. I stayed home from church yesterday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mental Health Sunday, Ministry of Reality Monday, Aug 2, 2010

  1. That reminds me of when I was younger and my mom would give us a “mental health day” when we could skip school every so often (both when I was homeschooled and in “regular” school). It’s a good thing. 🙂

  2. rylee95 says:

    Yay! for you! and Goood for you! Those days are really, really important. Do you know how many Sundays Ry went to church during his 7 Sundays off? 3. And for one of those, he had to administer the Lord’s Supper at my church, so he had to be there working. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

